jump to navigation

Motherboard scare … December 16, 2006

Posted by Mayank in PC.
trackback

I just assembled my PC with an ASUS P5B Deluxe/Wifi AP mobo. The very next morning I got the scare of my life, my PC would just not boot. I would not hear the any beep codes either, so I had no clue about what was happening.

For a minute I thought that I had a blown up motherboard :(. I decided to start checking out all components on the Mobo to figure out if a blown component was screwing things up.

As i plugged in each component at a time and tried starting the PC after plugging in each component, I realised that the two RAM slots were blown for some reason. When I shifted the DIMMs to the other memory bank the PC started working fine.

So if you guys have a non-responsive mobo on boot up with no beep codes, you might be interested in trying to reassemble all the components on the Mobo just to isolate the erring component/slot.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

